Half-timber structure on a stone floor
Count Eberhard III the Mild had the palace built in the late 14th century and it was completed in 1400. He used the old palace in Stuttgart for inspiration. Two floors of living quarters are located above the ground floor and house the palace's two grand halls. The lower floor boasts the Hall of Palms and was built of stone, the upper half-timber floor houses the Golden Hall. Access to the upper floors was previously located outside, along the northwest courtyard facade. The rectangular structure was covered by a hipped roof.